Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2013, 05:12   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Boat: Roberts Offshore 38
Posts: 5
Airmar P319 Depth Transducer

Hi Folks! My yacht is fitted with the standard Sailpack of Raymarine ST60 instruments. The Depth unit operates via the supplied Airmar P319 depth transducer. I would like to add a low cost fishfinder to the boat but dont want to add another transducer (steel boat so needs thru-hull transducer). It seems that several fishfinders (Raymarine, Garmin, Lowrance etc) list the P319 as an option for transducer. Since I will either be using the boat as a either primarily a sailing vesel (and hence prefer the simplicity of the ST60 depth readout), or chasing fish (and hence prefer the detailed view of the fishfinder), i was pondering having either unit operate via the existing transducer, but switch between device by having the transducer wired via a 3 pole double throw toggle switch.

My main question is are all Airmar P319 transducers the same, just with different pluge to suit different instruments?

Does anyone see a flaw in my plan (before I go out & buy a fishfinder)?
__________________

swinsail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 06:19   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 36,351
Images: 241
Re: Airmar P319 Depth Transducer

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, swinsail.
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 18:18   #3
Registered User
 
robbiearnold's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Jacksons arm, Newfoundland
Boat: 38' Northumberland
Posts: 13
Re: Airmar P319 Depth Transducer

Welcome Swinsail,
I don't think you could route a transducer through a 3 pole switch, it's just a guess on my part but I would bet the supply from the transducer to the FF unit is NOT merely a wire!, the B319 is a 500w 50/200hz duel frequency unit.
Possibly you could install a Raymarine sonar module which should allow you to network the transducer into 2 independent fish finders.
I would strongly suggest giving West marine a call, they have advisers who can tell you exactly what you should or could do. see their web site westmarine.com

Robbie
__________________
I used to be indecisive, but now..I'm not so sure!!
robbiearnold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2013, 21:32   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,822
Re: Airmar P319 Depth Transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by swinsail View Post
Hi Folks! My yacht is fitted with the standard Sailpack of Raymarine ST60 instruments. The Depth unit operates via the supplied Airmar P319 depth transducer. I would like to add a low cost fishfinder to the boat but dont want to add another transducer (steel boat so needs thru-hull transducer). It seems that several fishfinders (Raymarine, Garmin, Lowrance etc) list the P319 as an option for transducer. Since I will either be using the boat as a either primarily a sailing vesel (and hence prefer the simplicity of the ST60 depth readout), or chasing fish (and hence prefer the detailed view of the fishfinder), i was pondering having either unit operate via the existing transducer, but switch between device by having the transducer wired via a 3 pole double throw toggle switch.

My main question is are all Airmar P319 transducers the same, just with different pluge to suit different instruments?

Does anyone see a flaw in my plan (before I go out & buy a fishfinder)?
Are you sure it's the P319? The ST60 gear usually uses the P19.

Raymarine Instrument Transducer Options
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.