Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2015, 06:26   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne, FL
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 321
Posts: 16
Adding Raymarine autopilot to existing NMEA 2k network

Anyone that can offer some advice on what connectors / adapters I will need in addition to what is included with the EV-100 wheel pilot kit in order to get it functioning on my existing NMEA 2000 (Garmin chartplotter, anemometer, depth/speed/temp) network?

Would it be better to wire up the autopilot using the supplied Seatalkng cabling and then use an adapter to wire that into the NMEA network, or would it be better to wire each component directly into the NMEA network? It seems like I would have to do a lot more wiring and supply several NMEA adaptors a T-connectors myself if I wire each device directly in, so I'd rather use all the supplied cabling and only have to make one connection into the NMEA network if that's possible.

Any advice?

Thanks,
Brad
__________________
bstowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 05:26   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne, FL
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 321
Posts: 16
Re: Adding Raymarine autopilot to existing NMEA 2k network

On the off chance that someone may stumble on this question and be curious, this is the info I got from Raymarine tech support:

Quote:
The best way, would be to use the autopilot cabling, then connect to the end of the existing backbone, there isn't a specific adapter cable but the backbone cables of the two backbones are color for color splice, you would just get a Seatalk NG backbone cable, cut the connector off and do the same for the existing NMEA 2000 backbone cable and splice color for color leaving the terminators on the ends of the two backbones, and using the power input from the existing backbone.
I'll be giving that a try in a few weeks and we'll see how it goes.
__________________
bstowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 00:12   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,699
Re: Adding Raymarine autopilot to existing NMEA 2k network

instead of splicing 2 cables together I would cut the end off the ray backbone cable and attach a maretron n2k field end. to make your own 1 peice adapter cable.


and yes it'll work just fine joining the 2 systems together. just have one n2k end terminator on one side and one raymarine end terminator on the other.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, marine, nmea, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding different brand instruments to an existing system Boat Boy Marine Electronics 7 09-02-2015 16:24
Garmin GMS 10 network port expander vs network hub gettinthere Marine Electronics 0 04-06-2013 17:42
Adding Solar and Wind to Existing System Trevortune Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 2 26-06-2012 07:06
Insert existing waypoint into existing route? Beausoleil OpenCPN 16 17-06-2012 07:49



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.