Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2018, 15:48   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 412
add a second radar screen?

Hi
just purchased a new Garmin unit Garmin Gpsmap 942xs Display W/Gmr 18 Hd+ Radar Bundle
https://www.hodgesmarine.com/Garmin-...0-01739-53.htm
I believe has NMEA 2000® and NMEA 0183 support for network connectivity, including autopilots, digital switching, weather, FUSION-Link, VHF, AIS and other sensors.
I like to have a secondary display in the cabin,Defender has
B&G Zeus˛ 9 Multifunction Display - Remanufactured
https://www.defender.com/product3.js...782&id=3530902
at an attractive price.
will this work?,is any other way to bring that display in a less expensive way.
The charting is not a biggy as can use my tablet with a chart program and will have that,however the radar display not sure.
thanks for your help
__________________

__________________
A Sempre Avanti
Mahalo Plenty
davil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 15:26   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 22
Re: add a second radar screen?

The easiest way to add a second radar screen would be to network Garmin to a computer running OpenCpn using the Garmin Radar Plugin

https://opencpn.org/wiki/dokuwiki/do...r:garmin_radar

I think it is possibly to run without chart overlay if that is what you prefer
__________________

Steelcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 22:26   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,488
Re: add a second radar screen?

Does that Garmin screen have wireless? You can run the app and view on a taplet inside.

No the different brand will not work. You need a Garmin screen inside. Ones that can network. Some of the cheaper Garmins do not.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2018, 03:57   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 412
Re: add a second radar screen?

No wireless and on second thoughts been calculating power usage and realized better start to pay attention to hourly/daily power drain
Very easy to be lured into all these gadgets
Need to simplify
Thanks
__________________
A Sempre Avanti
Mahalo Plenty
davil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar, screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I add a second Membrane to my Spectra Cape Horn Watermaker? yachtshah Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 73 02-03-2019 14:47
To screen or not to screen? nknowland Construction, Maintenance & Refit 16 26-06-2015 19:39
How to add second head sail halyard to small boat Boulter Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 5 02-06-2014 12:33
how to add a second steering wheel dancamp009 Navigation 0 06-04-2009 11:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.