Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-03-2019, 14:52   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami
Boat: CAL39MKII and EDELCAT33
Posts: 76
Images: 2
Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

My GARMIN GPSMAP178C finally died or burned out the screen
Only used for depth
I want the cheapest depth display; Raymarine i40 depth display for $180 can do the job
I do not want to change the transducer as it will require pulling the sailboat out of the water
Anybody knows how to interpret the transducer cables? So I can connect them to the back of the Raymarine?
I know I must cut them as Garmin has a 6 pin conector and Raymarine i40 has 3 blades.

Thanks
__________________

carlosproa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2019, 15:07   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 3,707
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

Our Raymarine ST40 gave up the ghost last year, after only 7 or 8 years of seasonal use (grrrr). The cheapest decent depth instrument I could find was a Garmin fishfinder, which has that neat colour sidescrolling display, built-in GPS for heading and speed over ground, and including transducer was still around $70 cheaper than just a new Raymarine depth display. Just an fyi, before you lay out the bucks...


I mounted our transducers to shoot through the hull rather than make a hole, and it's been working fine.


Can you give us the make/model of the transducer itself? That might help.
__________________

Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2019, 06:21   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami
Boat: CAL39MKII and EDELCAT33
Posts: 76
Images: 2
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

not Sure as it came in the box with the Garmin GPSMAP 178C
Is a thru hull model that I adapted to shoot thru the fiberglass with a pvc pipe filled with mineral oil
Transducer Nylon - GSD-22 Depth Sounder 6 pin plug ? Maybe?
carlosproa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2019, 06:41   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Full time cruisers
Boat: Krogen 42
Posts: 349
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

Transducer is 2 wire, lookup pinout online and splice wires. I did this with a 15 year old transducer and it worked fine.
__________________
----------------------------------
Terry
meridian28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2019, 09:55   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 3,707
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosproa View Post
not Sure as it came in the box with the Garmin GPSMAP 178C
Is a thru hull model that I adapted to shoot thru the fiberglass with a pvc pipe filled with mineral oil
Transducer Nylon - GSD-22 Depth Sounder 6 pin plug ? Maybe?

If your transducer is a 'shoot-thru' like ours, then you don't have to haul out to replace it! (I did the exact same PVC pipe thing with our original transducer, too. Except I used nontoxic antifreeze)

So I had the same choice to make. It was cheaper and easier to get the Garmin fishfinder WITH transducer, and I fabricated a new tank out of a PVC octagon box ($10) for the new transducer. Much less hassle than trying to make the old transducer work with the new display, voiding warranties in the process.
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2019, 09:56   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
Lancerbye's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ladysmith,BC, Vancouver Island , Canada
Boat: Lancer 44 Motorsailer
Posts: 1,791
Images: 32
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

The operating frequency is only one parameter you need to consider when using a different company transducer. Some also include temperature monitor. The basic transducer is usually 2 wires but some proprietary transducers are tuned to a slightly different frequency just to prevent what you are trying to do. The other thing you need to consider is power, if you are transmitting using a high power depth sounder into a low power transducer, you can burn it out. Unfortunately just matching the frequency may not work. On the heavier commercial units one could just get a heavy duty transducer from any supplier at the same frequency and it would work. The other common frequency used on the more powerful units is 50 Khz. Mine is a Garmin dual frequency unit for a Garmin black box unit that sends the info back to the chart plotter as a nema 0183 signal.
__________________
The basis of accomplishment is in never quitting
Mengzi Meng-tse
Lancerbye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2019, 11:08   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 218
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

If you are wedded to the transducer the easiest thing to do is get a compatible Garmin depth recorder. Check before hand about which transducer it uses and see if you can find one that matches. Or look for a replacement for what you have on eBay.
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2019, 18:01   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 230
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

For what it is worth I had a Navman (NZ defunct company) 200 khz transducer and display.The display suffered from screen failure. The old Navman 200 khz transducer is not happy with the Raymarine i40 which really wants to work with a dual frequency transducer (50 and 200 khz). Plastimo have a stand alone 200 khz instrument that will (does) work well with the Navaman 200 khz. Called the advanSea S400. But it isn't cheap.
billgewater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2019, 19:14   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Miami
Boat: CAL39MKII and EDELCAT33
Posts: 76
Images: 2
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

Thanks
Heap is what I am going after

Thanks
carlosproa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2019, 04:44   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 10,414
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

Depending on the transducer style you may be able to change it in the water. If its the type that threads thru a female thru hull then that can be done in water. A toilet plunger or flexible plastic sheet material (like the flexible cutting boards) work for minimizing water flow while the transducer is out.
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2019, 07:52   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 10,414
Re: Adapting a Garmin 200Khz transducer to Raymarine

....alternatively, mount the new transducer inside the hull till you get a chance to haul. If you do it right, you may decide to leave it mounted in the hull. With most single shot tranducers you suffer very little loss in performance.
__________________

belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adapting Australia BBQ for European/Caribbean Gas Bottles anthonyp0808 Europe & Mediterranean 1 13-05-2017 11:49
Transmission cooler install... adapting raw water hose size & odd sized hose barb... basssears Engines and Propulsion Systems 0 17-03-2017 13:56
Adapting/Dealing with 240V 50Hz boat in the US peteatbeach Multihull Sailboats 7 06-05-2014 13:03
Need depth gauge to work with my old 200khz transducer yeterp Marine Electronics 2 21-08-2013 04:47
adapting shore power captjohn360 Construction, Maintenance & Refit 6 09-02-2005 23:13



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.