Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 24-11-2016, 16:33   #1

Would you do this to cut sailing cost?

Hello guys,

1st things 1st - The community around this forum is top-notch! I'm new here, but I hope to hear your thoughts and critics about the idea I've been toying around for a few months now.

I'm a web developer and would like to create a service for cruisers and boat owners that I call "Yacht Pooling".

This service will connect people who enjoy traveling on boats with captains who have empty space to accommodate them. It's like Blablacar for boats.

Let's say you'll sail from island A to island B in 3 days.

1. You post your trip details on the platform, how many people you can take and the price for the trip.

2. People will start sending you requests about that trip.

3. You choose the best candidate based on reviews from previous trips.

4. Win-win! You earned a little bit of cash to cut your sailing cost and folks had a great experience while sailing with you.

It seems like a fun and cool idea, but before committing to development I would like to hear your opinion.

I know that there is a lot of smart folks on this forum, so any thoughts about whether you like this idea or hate it would be really valuable to me.

Old 24-11-2016, 17:34   #2

Re: Would you do this to cut sailing cost?

so, "uber" for cruisers....

Old 24-11-2016, 17:46   #3

Boat: Mirage 35

Well, not exactly Uber. There's a ride sharing system where I live called Ami-go that does something of this nature: say I'm going from Ottawa to Montréal and have room in the car, I post it and people who are looking for a ride sign up and pay a share of the cost. It works very well, partly because all users (drivers and riders) have to pay a small registration fee, which helps keep out the flakes, and because there is a review system that lets both drivers and riders see the history of the people they're dealing with.