Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-10-2018, 14:46   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia East coast
Boat: Roberts EuroCat 2000 69 ft
Posts: 106
Wind Indicator

Help please- I have a Raymarine ST 60 wind Indicator , top of mast , Vane type Failed due to corrosion in the Vane to Masthead base connection. The down cable seems to have the base connection ' moulded in ' to the cable end.Has anyone been able to re-splice the cable to enable a new Vane / Base assmbly. to be fitted ?These wires are " micro size " and 100 feet up !!
__________________

BobFord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2018, 03:25   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
OldManMirage's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2017
Location: NE Florida
Boat: Cape Dory 28
Posts: 231
Re: Wind Indicator

I hate it when I post a question and get no replies.

A picture would help us understand exactly what the problem is. If its just that the wiring is very small it should still be doable, just difficult. Is this the connection at the top of the mast or at deck level ? The top of the mast would add to difficulty level, no doubt. But I think its only 4 wires ?

Using a small micro-torch to solder should work. And some good heat shrink tubing would be a must.
__________________

__________________
Old Man and Miss Mirage
YouTube Channel - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCb6...I8nmW3cFgpkzzg
OldManMirage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2018, 06:45   #3
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 10,507
Images: 14
Re: Wind Indicator

Whilst the ST60 windvane arm is an outrageous price, the cable and masthead socket is cheaper. I would price up a new one from the likes of e bay etc.

The arm does have a rubber o ring as part of the seal but it isn't good enough so annually I do a mast climb with the wife's tooth brush and a can of WD40 to sort it out. I might try thick grease on the o ring next year. From memory I think there are 5 or 6 wires in the socket.

https://hudsonmarine.co.uk/products/...m-300mm-a28159
Pete7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2018, 10:35   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia East coast
Boat: Roberts EuroCat 2000 69 ft
Posts: 106
Re: Wind Indicator

I appreciate your input Guys. The problem is at top of mast and what I am trying to achieve is to leave the ' cable in mast' , in place and simply put on a new masthead base( socket ).I agree about the 'O' ring seal , clearly it didn't work ! However, 4 years since installation , perhaps not too bad for a " Marine " fitting !!!!
BobFord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2018, 11:28   #5
Registered User
 
jstevens's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: On board Sarah, currently lying in Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Pearson, 424, 42', Sarah
Posts: 624
Images: 4
Re: Wind Indicator

On a previous boat I put a splice in the Raymarine (Autohelm then) cable at the masthead. I used a small junction box that I screwed to the top of the mast. I used a terminal strip to connect the individual wires in the box, then filled it with Silicone and secured the cover. It lasted for 20 years until I sold the boat. It was still working 5 years after I sold it.
Still running a new mastehead base and cable is probably the best option.

John
jstevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
wind

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLD] Davis Wind Wizard Wind Speed Indicator SailorHarry Classifieds Archive 0 21-12-2013 11:24
Wind Indicator Jammed pjazz Construction, Maintenance & Refit 2 09-03-2011 13:41
Wind Indicator: True or Apparent ? pete33458 Seamanship & Boat Handling 32 03-05-2010 21:35
Navman 3100 wind indicator erratic at < 10knts jkalucki Marine Electronics 12 17-02-2009 22:50
New Knotmeter, wind indicator Starboat Marine Electronics 0 05-09-2007 23:22



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.