Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2016, 11:12   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Cleveland, Oh.
Boat: cal29
Posts: 63
Transducer

I bought a 1970 Cal 29. All instrumentation were not working for whatever reason. I have found an in hull transducer not connected to anything. On the cable, it reads "airmar transducer CL1 C1225". There are "Omni" instruments on the bulkhead but none are connected to this transducer. All the wire stubs on these instruments don't match the trans. cable. I would like to connect this transducer to a new depth/fishfinder if possible. How can I check to see if it still works? Does anyone out there have the same boat that can give me some feedback on this? Airmar says I need to lnow which trans. it is. There is supposed to be a white label on tha cable about 12" from the trans with indentification on it. Mine has the label but the writing on it is long gone. HELP. kEN
__________________

__________________
alexanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 12:13   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Seattle
Boat: '76 Bristol 27
Posts: 174
Re: Transducer

First off - Welcome to the forums!

Second - I noticed you posted in the forum tech help section. This area is tailored to users who have issues with the site itself rather than equipment.

Hopefully a mod will see this and move the thread over to a more appropriate section, or you can just repost into the electronic section.

Unfotunately I am not of any help, however you may want to get some photos of the device as this might help others
__________________

__________________
chowdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 12:59   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,352
Re: Transducer

You can wire your new instrument up and connect and see I suppose. I'm not sure how to test a transducer without an instrument, but maybe someone here will help.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 17:01   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Seattle
Boat: '76 Bristol 27
Posts: 174
Re: Transducer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheechako View Post
You can wire your new instrument up and connect and see I suppose. I'm not sure how to test a transducer without an instrument, but maybe someone here will help.
I believe Maine Sail had something about this on his site.. Let me search for it

Found it - http://www.pbase.com/mainecruising/n...ansducer_ducer
__________________
chowdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Transducer is a Transducer, Correct? Herbseesmoore Marine Electronics 3 22-06-2013 06:23
Transducer Compatability salty_dog_68 Monohull Sailboats 6 31-03-2010 14:36
Want To Buy: Raymarine Rotary Rudder Transducer and Fluxgate Transducer Kristian Classifieds Archive 0 22-02-2010 04:09
transducer compatability salty_dog_68 Marine Electronics 0 28-11-2005 23:15
Transducer problems cyclepro Construction, Maintenance & Refit 21 13-10-2004 21:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.