Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-09-2019, 11:23   #1

Boat: Island Packet 29
Thoughts on Colgate 26?

Im a recent ASA101 newbie and trying to get experience so I can cruise the Texas coast next summer and thinking of buying a boat. Chartering has been slow and difficult getting a time slot I want on weekends, they are booked 2 weeks out, then weather pops up last minute on my day causing me to postpone, etc. Im just not getting much experience. Im kind of eyeballing a Colgate 26 (obviously just for learning, not cruising). They are super simple boats and low maintenance and I think I would use it more. The downside is they are not cheap, theres no bimini to guard from weather, etc. For the price of a decent condition one I can buy a “real” boat like a older Catalina 28 to practice on. But then you go down the rabbit hole of older boat maintenance. Theres also J80 for sale in my area.

Not sure if I should should look low maintenance boats like the Colgate/J80 type boats to learn on and make mistakes and tear up, or buy a real boat? Also not sure how hard a Colgate/J80 type boat would be to sell. Im in Galveston area with lots of clubs and racing so I dont think it would be too difficult.
Rockinar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2019, 20:35   #2

Re: Thoughts on Colgate 26?

I know this is from a month ago, but if you want to look at the Colgate, South Coast Sailing Adventures has a couple in Kemah that you can look at. As far as buying one, I recently listed this one that is in fantastic shape: https://www.popyachts.com/sloop-sail..._id=6631<br />