Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-04-2016, 15:10   #1

This is still just a dream, how do I get there? :)

Hi everyone,

I could use some advice! I find myself a newly single woman at 37 years old. I have always loved the water (grew up in the prairies but drawn to the west coast). I remember spending time on my uncle's boat as a 12 year old and thinking 'I wish I could just live here forever'. That little thought stuck in the back of my head and from then on, I've tried to convince past boyfriends, then my husband that we should pursue the idea and learn what we needed to learn in order to get out there. That was never anyone else's thing though, so I let it go. Now that my husband and I have split up, I find myself wondering what to do with the rest of my days, and this is top of the list. I have zero experience and no unfortunately no partner (at the moment) to share this life with, but I would love to hear any and all suggestions as to how I can work towards this goal.

I have read bits and pieces online (forums and blogs) and in books over the years, but most of what I've read is about the day to day life. I know this would not be an easy way to live, and I'm good with that. Fulfilling is what I'm after. While I am not in a place at this time to actually purchase a boat, I will be coming into some money in the next year or two, so I'd like to start planning now. I just don't know the first step in getting there. Right now I live in Eastern Washington, if that helps.

I'm sure I sound like a naive dreamer, and at this point, that's ok with me. I would like to turn into a well informed dreamer though. Thanks in advance for any advice!
Finns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2016, 15:16   #2

Boat: 2017 Jeanneau 519
Re: This is still just a dream, how do I get there? :)

Step 1 find your sailing club and go sailing with some one.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app