Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2019, 08:01   #1

Boat: Dickerson 41 Ketch
The rules of Crewing and Skippering

Hi,

I have crewed for others and I am an owner/skipper of my own sailboat.
Recently I had crew on board and it didnt go well. I have a very short list of rules but it seems that when the crew came aboard I found out I had more.
Being crew, it was easy to follow the captains orders for the most part, and I thought it was common sense about life on board. ( have been doing this for a while so I am not a newbie).
So to my surprise when it wasnt going well, I didnt really know what my options were.......
After a couple of blowouts and loud discussions, I was left frustrated.
My question is this;
Is there a list of rules for crew and captain? perceived or outright has to be done?
Lastly I came down early and found my engine was seized and we never went anywhere for 7 weeks waiting for repairs and parts

Mark
fawcettm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 08:34   #2

Boat: Sail any boats from 28 to 60 ft
Re: The rules of Crewing and Skippering

As always, Captain makes to the final decision.

I always have a discussion with the crew or with the captain a separation agreement. When something goes south, what each party would do to have a mutually amicable separation.

Finding the right match is never simple. Both sides must do the due diligence.
rockDAWG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 08:46   #3

Boat: Cal 35-2

Mark,