Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-01-2016, 08:36   #16

Boat: Island Packet 420
Re: Tax Advantaged Benefits For Sailors

If you have as much money as you are claiming you do, you have all the proper tax legal advice available to you via CPAs and tax attorneys. They would be aghast that you are asking those questions in a sailing forum.
sailing_gal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:01   #17

Full disclosure... I am an idiot and my CPA may not be any better. That being said, I asked similar questions a few years ago. If memory serves you can only deduct the cost to put the logo on sails, not the sails themselves and certainly not the vessel.

Don't take my word for it, consult your tax attorney. When (not if) you are audited I will be nowhere to be found. Your attorney will be sitting just to your right.

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
JimandBlieu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2016, 09:36   #18

Boat: Lagoon 380, 38', I Dream of Jeanne

I spent 5 years doing tax in Public Accounting, not to be a carrier tax accountant, but to learn how to dance around the IRS with my real estate business. My conclusion, "Pigs get fed and hogs get slaughtered"!!

Most people in your situation charter their boat. Shad Khan charters his new 308' yacht and almost breaks even for the year, with two charters to Russians per year. Is there money in that business, after loosing $100,000,000 when he sells the boat? In his case, who cares when he's got to find a way to consume $750,000,000 per year.

Which brings me to an alternative you might consider. The bigger the boat you get, the more crew you need to operate it. The bigger the crew you need, the more that you've put yourself right back into what you're trying to get away from - employees and management!!

Jimmy Buffet just bought a new sailboat and shrunk down to just 44'. Why, because he can handle it alone. No Crew Needed!