Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-07-2012, 16:20   #1

Same ol' Questions

Hello all,

I'm quite new to sailing, been out day sailing three or four times with friends and took a sailing course at the mystic seaport a few years ago. After my most recent trip I've decided I would like to get my own little boat. Which presents some pretty basic questions.

I know, I know, everybody here has most probably heard these questions a million times but if you would mind answering them all over one more time you would be contributing greatly to a future sailers experiences.

My main question is where to start... The advice I've been getting is to just go ahead and crew for others... Easier said than done. I will be posting a little thread in the crew section regarding this. Is this the only way to go about it? Could I take the 8hr. Course for a boating license and be ready to go? (I think I have that right) How much experience should I have before taking this course? Just the basics, a few trips or a few years? Or do I need any at all? What type of sailboat would be good for a beginner? Catalina 22? Just a little lost as how to get started same old problems I'm sure.
Newsailer22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2012, 18:52   #2

Boat: 15 foot Canoe
Re: Same ol' Questions

A million and one times now. Just kidding!
What might work for you may not be right for anyone else so you have to kind of analyze your particular situation.
If you are close to a club or marina that's a good way to get into sailing with others. If they offer an inexpensive sailing course then that's a good way to get the basics and meet others "in the same boat."