Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2013, 23:36   #1

Boat: Lagoon 440
If I Don't Agree With You am I Therefore wrong?

Given that this Forum is a massive wealth of experience in all things marine and social i note that quite often tempers often get frayed when debate occurs.

There are some who no longer contribute to this Forum due to direct abuse that has been received, at times very personal, that's a loss to all of us.

When a topic comes up it, at times, becomes a 'Think Tank' with many contributing their individual knowledge, experience and or theory.

One of the first rules of 'Think Tanking' is that even when a contradictory/challenging point is put forward it must remain POSITIVE as negative comments are simply not constructive.

Even the absolute newbie can, albeit at risk of re-inventing the wheel, have a post that's 'thought provoking', likewise experienced minds can 'think tank' new ways to approach particular problems.

So why the vehemence or non-acceptance of contrary idea's?

Are we not positive enough to accept different thinking?

Do we prefer to argue?

Is our individual knowledge 'The only way'?

Can the printed word be taken 'out of context' due to the readers emotion at the time?

Cheers Frank.
Old 12-07-2013, 23:49   #2

Boat: Kelsall Suncat 40
They are just humans, Frank. We pity them....

Jimbo485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2013, 23:49   #3
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.
Re: If I Don't Agree With You am I Therefore wrong?

Well to answer the Thread Title - usually "YES" but funnily enough, I have noticed that more and more people now know more than me so perhaps the answer will soon be "NO".