Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-06-2011, 18:20   #1

Talking Hurricane season: 2 year planned trip to the bahamas and the carib, where do we hide?

I have very little experience on the east coast, one 2 month trip to the Bahamas, mainly Abacos.
My earlier thread asked several questions, cost, best boat, best multi hull (amazed how many recommend mono hull vs. multi)
One responded with a great question, back to me. I had made it clear I was pretty new to this, BUT... the point was by the responder to my thread, "what's your plan for summer, storm season?"
very good question
What do we do, where do people go, leave the area, back to FL? drydock?
hold up and cross the fingers? We met liveaboard people in the Abacos, green turtle cay and hope island, they seemed to be living aboard year round, unless I missed a part of a conversation while enjoying a rum drink, its been known to happen
lots of negative feedback to the multi hull, and all good points
expensive to buy
expensive to operate? (that one confused me, are they that much more?)
you have to rent 2 slips, or get an end spot, makes sense I guess
and the puzzler reply "what do you plan to do in the summer, man"
well, anyone got an answer?
aimlesswanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 18:24   #2
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Re: Hurricane season: 2 year planned trip to the bahamas and the carib, where do we h

i am spending summer in pairadice onmy boat and hunkering down when a blowstorm comes thru, if it does. but i am not on an island in the sea..LOL--i am in mexico in mazatlan, in a hurrycame spozedly safe spot. on purpose.
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-06-2011, 18:43   #3

Boat: In the hunt again, unknown