Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-12-2011, 17:00   #1

pirate How to Get Started

Hello all,

About three years ago, I was involved in a bad car/truck accident and I suffered a brain injury and spinal cord injuries. I love the water and my family had power boats when I was growing up. I want to get started in sailing and would like to live aboard in the future. I was a corporate lawyer but I am no longer able to work. Thus, "free time" is not an issue. I live in Houston but I am going through a divorce (another casualty of the accident). I will be living in the Palm Beach, FL area in the near future.

What's the best way to get started? I was thinking about water sailing">Blue Water Sailing School. Someone suggested that I join a yacht club or sailing club. Any suggestions would be helpful.

I've also been researching live aboard sailboats. I want something that I can take on extended trips by myself, is large enough for a guest or two and is safe. So far, I like the Beneteau 473, the newer Beneteau 46 and the Jenneau 45DS. Does anyone have thoughts or advice on these boats or other options I should consider.

This is going to be the beginning of a new life for me so I thought it would be a good idea to ask others for input. Thanks in advance.
Newbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2011, 23:58   #2

Boat: Gemini 105MC 34 ft hull#753
Re: How to get started