Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2015, 08:31   #31
cruiser

Re: How Much is a Month Worth

OK, here's some good financial advice:

Busting your unhappy a$$ today for the possibility of an extra $10k ten years down the road is only going to buy you and your wife some premium adult diapers on the other end 15-20 years from now.

My wife and I work in healthcare... We see it all the time. The ones who work hard and wait... either don't make it to the retirement they envision or they end up sitting in premium adult diapers in their 80's and 90's that they worked hard for in their 60's.

How's that for a dose of reality?
Kenomac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2015, 08:31   #32
Senior Cruiser

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

pirate Re: How Much is a Month Worth

Ahhh... The old 'Its for the little woman' arguement..

You can't beat a people up (for 75yrs+) and have them say..
"I Love You.. ". Murray Roman.
Yet the 'useful idiots' of the West still dance to the beat of the apartheid drums.
boatman61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2015, 08:32   #33

Boat: Formerly Pearson 28-1, now just a sailing dinghy

10k in 9 years is 8300 today at 2% inflation. So, take 8300 out of your cruising budget that first year, stick it in a long term cd, and go.
If you're looking at that A LOT more number, take 8300, put it in a similarly undiversified and risky equity, and cross your fingers.
If you want instead, take 4200, put it in the s&p index, hope for average 10% per year value growth, and have the same 10k in nine years.