Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-06-2011, 23:10   #1
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orange Beach, AL
Boat: '79 Pearson- 365 ketch,# 264 hull
Posts: 108
Images: 4
Hole drilling for thru hull transducer.

I have a garmin 546s unit and it came with a transom mount type tranducer. I would need to run some type of pole down to the waterline for it to work, which seems lame to me. I could put in a thru hull but was wondering if anyone has had any serious problems creating a hole in their fiberglass hull. I'm thinking hole saw with pilot drill, but perhaps there is a better way? Does anyone have a 546s with a thru hull, is it worth the effort?
__________________

__________________
Orrjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2011, 02:05   #2
Moderator
 
Pete7's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Solent, England
Boat: Moody 31
Posts: 8,560
Images: 14
Re: Hole drilling for thru hull transducer.

Before you go drilling holes, pop the transom tranducer in a plastic bag with some water in it and lay it on the inside of the hull (avoid cored areas). Connect it up and see what sort of signal you get, it will probably be good enough, unless you want speed and temperature.

If this works then just glue the transom tranducer in with sealant, despite what it is written in the manufacturers instructions it works very well.

Our dive club rib has a transom tranducer glued in that I stuck down as a temporary measure just to use it for an afternoon in 1997. It's still their and working fine.

If it doesn't give a good enough signal then consider buying the shoot through hull type which has a round plastic fitting glued to the hull, filled with oil and the transducer sits inside it. Lots on e bay etc, but do get the Garmin one as the Raymarine ones have different connections. they are all made by an outside company called Arimar btw.

Pete
__________________

__________________
Moody 31 - April Lass
Pete7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2011, 04:20   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
Re: Hole drilling for thru hull transducer.

Airmar has numerous transducer Installation and Owner's Guides:
Here ➥ Airmar Marine Installation and Owner's Guide
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2011, 06:01   #4
Registered User
 
jacob30's Avatar

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Solomons, MD
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 400
Posts: 244
Re: Hole drilling for thru hull transducer.

I think I am going to opt for the inhull first before I drill:


GARMIN
50/200kHz, In-Hull Puck, Dual-Frequency Transducer

Model # 4352944
__________________
jacob30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2011, 06:09   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Boat: Cape Dory 33, 17' Boston Whaler
Posts: 164
I agree that you should try the one you have before buying a new one. I installed a Garmin through-hull transducer as an in-hull transducer and it works great. I think Garmin says the hull must be 5/8" thick or less for it to work well, but my hull is a little thicker than that and I've never had a problem with it. I used the oil-well method rather than the silicone method because of the curvature of my hull.
__________________
Prerequisite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-2011, 06:13   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,580
Images: 240
Re: Hole drilling for thru hull transducer.

I think thatís an Airmar #P79

Here ➥ P79 In-Hull - Airmar Marine Transducers

Instructions ➥
http://www.airmartechnology.com/uplo.../17-217-01.pdf
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thru hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.