Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-11-2015, 10:47   #1

Help with where to Blog - suggestions

I read on here someone posted some links to a few good blog sites. I am a newbie on the liveaboard sailing thing and want to share with friends and family. Not looking to make money. I read that webs.com was good and I have posted a lot there. Lately I have been getting errors when trying to update blog and you can't get help if you don't pay. I tired of fighting it and want to transfer all to a different site. I tried google + blogspot but when I click on it (although my language is english) it comes in chinese or something and I can't change it back. Already fighting there so something different. Any suggestions out there please come back.

valerie
valerinna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-11-2015, 11:38   #2

Boat: Ohlson 29
Re: Help with where to Blog - suggestions

Different people, different opinions Here's mine:

Spent a little money on webhosting and start your own WordPress blog. That way you don't run into limits or having to pay to ask a simple question.

I've made a lot of WordPress website for (Dutch) liveaboards / cruisers, and on average the hosting will only cost them about $40 per year.
In return for that amount, they can register the site address (domain name) they want (including cool email addresses ) and they own their website and they can decide what it looks like.

Plenty of them started out on sites like blogger.com or wordpress.com, but sooner or later you hit a limit and have to pay for support or to use another theme etc. etc.