Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Our Community
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2018, 20:08   #1

Does it damage a boat leaving it in the water all year?

I'm new to boating and curious about how bad it is or isn't to leave a boat in a slip (in the water) year-round (such as in Florida on the ICW).

Is a boat's hull fine long-term (being kept in the water) as long as it's occasionally cleaned?
boatingnewbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 20:31   #2

Boat: Catalina 320
Re: Does it damage a boat leaving it in the water all year?

Mine's been in the water for 16-17 years so far, cleaned monthly, hauled and painted for a week every 3 to 5 years.
Calif.Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 20:59   #3

Boat: Columbia 29 MK1 Hull #28

I am sure there are many folks here wit much more knowledge than me. But it would appear to be almost more harmful to store a boat on the hard for extended periods of time. The reason I say this is in the water all the weight is displaced evenly over the entire hull in the water. While a boat on the hard is supported at maybe ten different points by pads. I would guess this puts more stress on the hull than being in the water.

Hopefully this isn't bum scoop
406Columbia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2018, 21:09   #4
Moderator and Certifiable Refitter

Boat: C.L.O.D.

Tens of thousands, maybe hundreds of thousands of boats are left in the water all year round. Slip every year or two for a clean and reapply bottom paint.

Absolutely no issue wherever there is no sea ice or heavy snow.
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence