Cruisers Forum

Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2019, 20:16   #1

Dating for cruising singles?

Im a 40 something male, fit, attractive and love the ocean, in it and on it.

Im a NZ and Aus resident and sale mostly NZ and the pacific Islands. (I love NZ summers but escape the winter and head north)

Am I destined to be single forever given my love for the ocean leaves me out of the social loop for meeting a beautiful mermaid to spend my life on the ocean with?

It really is a Niche market.

Has anybody been in this situation, male or female?
Old 07-01-2019, 20:48   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: Dating for cruising singles?

Hi Luvsun and welcome to the forum,

You aren't the first to ask this question. Use the search function on the forum to look for "singles" and you will find a couple of very long discussions on the subject.

Bottom line, there's not many unattached women sailing. Yes there are some and you might get lucky but women are hugely outnumbered by the men. That being said, there's a lot of single women in the world and plenty that might want to sail. I've had friends that found partners that suited their very specific lifestyles going to online dating sites. These days there are dating sites for just about anything you can imagine; sites for young, old, straight, gay, Christian, atheist, other, vegetarians, carnivores, you name it. In your case I would pick a medium to large city to provide more options, go online and set up a profile. Bet you a Kiwi dollar you find some takers.
Old 07-01-2019, 20:55   #3

Boat: 50’ Bavaria

There are sailing dating sites...
Old 07-01-2019, 21:01   #4

You need to pull a La Vagabond. Invite local attractive and interesting women for a fun day sail and let them fall in love with the lifestyle. That’s what Riley did with Elayna.
Old 07-01-2019, 21:03   #5