Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 21-11-2016, 09:21   #1

Boat: Irwin 30 Citation
Boat Transportation

Good morning all,

I am new to sailing and all things boats however, I wanted an adventure with my daughter. We have lived in the Phoenix AZ area and recently sold everything and moved to St. Petersburg FL. I purchased a 30' Irwin sailboat that is located in KY. We are in a temporary condo until I can get the boat here to live aboard. I have contacted 2 companies for transportation quotes, but they have no availability until after the new year. Does anyone have a suggestion on a company that is reasonable with pricing? Or, thoughts/opinions on me flying into KY and finding someone to help me sail it to FL?

Any input is appreciated!

Old 21-11-2016, 10:11   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Re: Boat Transportation

Put a request onto UShip and you should get a few bites.

Question? Why did you buy an Irwin 30 in Kentucky when there are so many similar boats already in Florida?

Don't feel like you need to answer, it's only a curiosity.

Old 21-11-2016, 10:21   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422

Hi Alisa,

Hope you got a really great deal on the Irwin because it's going to cost you to move it to FL. Irwin 30 has a beam over 10' so it will require special permits to haul it over the road. Depending on the size truck and trailer you find I expect it will be at least $2-3,000.

Is this the deep draft or shoal draft version? That may have an impact as well.
Old 21-11-2016, 14:23   #4