Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-06-2011, 09:36   #1

Bareboat Qualifications

I don't know if this belongs here, or not. I've just joined the forum and it looks great! I have done a lot of sailing, both dinghy and keel, but don't own a boat. It's just too short a season here in Toronto (having lived and sailed in Australia and South Africa my tolerance level is low). So I want to start taking bareboat charter holidays, looking at the Mediterranean, possibly also Carribean. Does anyone know anything about the kind of qualifications and certificates companies will be looking for? I have a lot of experience but basically no certificates (except the licenses I need to sail on Lake Ontario and operate a radio). Thanks!
kleinzaches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 09:49   #2

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Re: Bareboat qualifiactions

Essentially all you need is a credit card. Most companies ask for a sailing resume but in the final analysis, they're in the business of renting boats that belong to others.
Old 02-06-2011, 10:02   #3

make up a "Sailing Resume" showing your experience etc. That helps. Ditto what was said above though!
Cheechako is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 10:14   #4

Boat: Newport 28 MKII