Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2017, 10:32   #1

Adjusting valves questionIt is past time for me to do a valve lash adjustment.

It is past time for me to do a valve lash adjustment. I am a former automotive technician so adjusting valves is turnkey for me. However making sure the respective cylinder is at TDC on compression is not as simple as a gas engine [you can feel compression in the spark plug hole if you can't find a clear timing mark on gas engines]. That said my Yanmar shop manual instructs to align the flywheel mark visible thru the starter mount hole or thru an inspection hole on the backside of the trans. That works for cylinder # 1 but then it instructs to rotate the crank 240 degrees and adjust # 3 and again rotate 240 and adjust #2. My question is that due to the critical importance to assure that each valve is fully closed-how can you judge 240 degrees accurately without an index mark? I know I can tell when both valves are fully closed on the low side of the cam lobe, but since holding a valve open [to little lash clearance] for even a nano second at the wrong time will burn it-I would prefer a more accurate and dependable indicator. So we're back to the rotate procedure. Long message, but if anyone has specific hands-on experience with adjusting the lash on this model-I would really appreciate your information. thanks
jim
SV SamiDog
2002 Hunter356
Jimongee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 11:05   #2

Boat: Seafarer36c
Re: Adjusting valves questionIt is past time for me to do a valve lash adjustment.

It depends on what RPM you are at for a "nano second"to go by. As an expert mechanic you should be able to tell the flat spot on the cam. Plus you don't need any stinking makers. Rotate the engine in the normal direction and watch the valves.
model 10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2017, 11:43   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38