Well, I paid my Maine
State sales tax on my boat just to be able to keep it there all summer after purchase
. I would have l had to leave within 30 days otherwise. It sounded foolish to pay over $20 grand just for my summer cruise
I left Maine
and headed south, hadn't registered the dink. pblais is right. Florida was hot on the dinghy
registration deal. So I used it lightly and 'beat the man' for a couple months. Vero Beach was rolling the dice though.
Shipped the boat to Victoria BC and entered Canada
and thence to Wa State. Went the cruising permit route
with periodics renewals. It gained me 6 months. So now I knew I had to deal with the local man.
In CA, if after a year elsewhere, (term fluxuates depending on who controls their legislature), and after you've paid the sales tax elsewhere, you're home free. Of course, as a previous CA resident, CA wanted their cut. I had to 'prove' I hadn't brought my boat into Ca in the first year. One method was to register in another state as proof. I hadn't done that. I'd been on the move...
Came to Washington
. Let's see, personal property or excise tax $1800 or so annually. Oh, btw, since our local rate where you berth the boat, ( I didn't 'berth' it anywhere as I was transient) but 'today' when you're paying, is some percentage point higher, we want another $13000! I gulped, put my checkbook away and said not today!
Eventually I found it under the sofa cushion(s) but now no boats within a 50 mile radius have ANY change under their cushions!
Moral of the Story: You can beat the tax man but you've got to keep moving. Stop and you're easy prey. (or maybe just cruise