Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-07-2017, 09:03   #1

Boat: boatless atm
Send a message via MSN to bobfnbw
Retirement and boat purchase dilemma

So after many years of hard work, in May of 2020 I turn 62 and wish to retire from this rat race on a sailboat and cruise until I can't anymore. Don't we all... But I have some serious issues I have to work out, and not liking the options. I have looked on many places for answers and not liking what I have found figured I would ask this community for their take, knowing that I might not like some of your answers either... but lets see.
So some background. I am 59 with a good income, wife is 55. She is not expecting to retire for another 8 years or so. I don't smoke, don't drink, recently switched to a health diet and losing weight. Family genetics say I won't live much over 70. But that is a guess of course. I am a medical professional, I have seen more people die than I care to remember. I know that you can't take it with you. I have little in the bank, most is in retirement funds, and figure will have roughly 300K by then. We own 2 homes, 1 is rented out, the other we live in. Wife has a teachers retirement which when she retires will give her a good income. I am looking at 1700 a month in social security when I retire. More if I wait, but not looking to do that. Most of my current income is either invested in 403b plan, or our monthly budget, plus taxes of course. Both kids will be over 18 when I retire.