Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-07-2013, 18:56   #1

Boat: 79' Mason 43
Purchasing a Boat Without a Broker in California

This will be my first boat purchase. I'm planning on doing a full survey and sea trial but what do I need to worry about when not using a broker. The boat is a Hans Christian and it will be under $100,000 in the state of California. I am a California resident. I'm not against brokers but I found a boat that I like and he's not using a broker.

Any advice would be great!
capt.cam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2013, 19:15   #2

Boat: Endeavor 32
Re: Purchasing a boat without a broker in California

I've purchased five smaller boats, but am in the middle of my first major purchase... without a broker. After you collect all the advice and standard forms you need, I suggest you do some role playing, then write an outline of the transaction and discuss with the seller to be sure you two see it the same way.

My seller did not realize that most offers in this area are written so that the buyer can walk away after the survey for any reason, no matter how minor. He also had an unrealistic expectation for timelines to line up the survey. You need to think of all the details, such as when possession actually transfers, how to keep insurance in force during the transaction, which documents must be notarized in your state, etc.

If I could restart the process, I would try to find a broker that would handle the transaction -- certainly not at the level of a full commission, but just the transaction, handling the payment, etc.

Good luck.
philip NC is offline   Reply With Quote