Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-02-2019, 09:57   #1

Boat: Cooper, Sea Bird 37'
Question new to everything sailing

good day everyone, as mentioned above i am new to the sailing world ( and posting in forums ) but am very excited to get going in a new adventure while I am able as i am not a kid any more. I am seriously looking at purchasing a sailboat to cruise off the west coast of North America and hopefully into the South Pacific eventually. My first question is do i have to get insurance and where do I even start looking for boat insurance and any ball park guesses as to what it would cost me to insure a 1973, 42 foot Ketch.
TedR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2019, 11:29   #2

Boat: 32 feet of love
Re: new to everything sailing

Aloha Ted;

You don't need insurance to own and operate a sailboat, however most marinas will require a minimum of liability insurance to keep your boat.
The rest is up to you, I defer to others who have been offshore with / without insurance.

Pardon me for pushing my advice on you - I am in much the same situation as you but with a 3 year head start:

A 42' is pretty big for someone with zero experience. Many will say start with a course, start with dinghy sailing, start small. I say start with 24' - 32'. something you definitely can handle on your own i.e. you can turn it around by hand at the dock, you can easily handle the sails on your own etc...
If you can afford it, go ahead and get the 42' as well, but I think it is well worth you owning and learning on a smaller boat, something you can easily find for 10K or under if money is more an issue.