Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 08:43   #1

Is Leasing an Option ?

I'm almost embarrassed to ask this question, but I'm new to all this so I'll use that excuse as justification. I want (and need) to find a place to live quickly and want to use this opportunity to pursue my dream of living aboard a sailboat and cruising the US eastern seaboard (the intercoastal waterway), living in the warmer climates in the winter months and returning north for the summer months. Divorce has wiped me out financially, except for a small, monthly retirement check. So here's the question:

Is it possible to find a 1 year lease on a 27'-32' live-aboard sailboat---maybe from someone who doesn't sail anymore and is selling or thinking about selling and would enjoy a monthly payment for a year?

Such an arrangement would allow me to learn the boat, learn the craft of living aboard, save some money for a down payment and make an informed decision on what to do after year one. It would also allow someone with a slip payment to take a break from paying and BE PAID instead. Of course I will be ASA certified before taking possession.

Am I thinking outside the box or just plain crazy? Anyone? Other options?
im1ru12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 09:54   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
It may not be impossible; but it’s a highly unlikely and unusual arrangement. Boat rentals are most typically called charters, which usually last days or weeks. A charter would likely be much more expensive than an apartment rental, longer term.