Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Scuttlebutt > Dollars & Cents
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-05-2010, 12:05   #1

Boat: caliber 40
Gulf Coast Boat Insurance

Hi, newbie here,

I have been living and working in the Houston area for 14 years and have made the decision to but a boat and move onto it. I am in the process of buying a Caliber 40 (pre LRC - 1993). I have inquired about insurance and have received back quotes ranging from $3,500 to $4,000. know that we have had our share of hurricanes in the last years but this seems a little steep. Can anybody corroborate these prices from what they have already or what they have been quoted?
The value of the boat is approximately $140,000.
Any help would be greatly appreciated

Moray
morays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 12:13   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Seems little on the high side but you are in the hurricane zone. Rates also vary a lot based on your years of boating experience, any official courses or certifications, etc.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2010, 12:31   #3

Skipmac,

Thanks for the quick reply. This will be my first boat that I have owned but I have been crewing and racing boats for the last 6 years in the Gulf Coast. I am also ASA certified up through Coastal Navigation. I realize that this is not the same as USCG certification but I intend to work on my 6pack license once I live on the boat as I would be able to rack up the hours required with my own boat.

Moray
Old 26-05-2010, 12:51   #4

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401