Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 07-05-2015, 10:54   #1

First Decision....First Boat

First of all I would like to say I have been reading for a few weeks on the forums. Filling my poor little head with what to do with myself.
I am currently unemployed, by my own decision. I needed a break from the 100+ hour weeks for a while. I have taken the last month and a half off to get rested up and somehow started looking at sailboats....hhhmmm....looks like it would be fun for a while.
First off I have no sailing experience other than a sunfish. I guess you guys have not heard that one before hehe !! So I know all of you know what's coming now. I would ask where to start, as to which boat to buy, in terms of cost/upgrades. I have been on Yatchworld quite a bit and sailboat listings trying to figure out what makes a good boat, where the boat is in terms of condition, and trying to figure out what I should be looking for in terms of my budget.
This is why I posted in this section of the forums. While it certainly is doable if anyone has deep enough pockets. My Kitty has a finite amount.

As I will need to go back to work, I am trying to look at this as a long vacation. I seem to work all the time and do not really have much of a personal life, which is passing away each day. I'm ready to go have some fun for a bit and see if I even like the cruising thing. I love boats BTW.

My goals are to purchase a boat and sail down to Grenada and back. This would take and entire year, or maybe two if I can manage to make that "good" purchase. I will not be crossing the ocean just island hopping.