Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 08-03-2015, 13:47   #1

Boat: Kaufman 47
California Use Tax

Hey guys,
I did a search and found some things from almost a decade ago and some that really didn't apply to me so I'm opening this up for help. I have received a letter from the California Board of Equalization regarding use tax on my boat. Back story, I am a Louisiana resident, and I bought the boat in Alemeda, CA last Jan(2014) and had the boat immediately shipped to New Orleans where the boat sits currently. I paid the brokerage who was selling the boat for the buyer the amount agreed upon for the boat and I paid the shipping to NOLA. The boat is registered with no state and only with the USCG vessel documentation.

It was my understanding, brokerage and CA title guy advice, that I didn't need to pay CA taxes as I am shipping it out of state and I just have to pay taxes for LA. Well, I get a letter from the BOE and I called to see what the deal was and the guy on the phone said since I was the one who shipped the boat from CA that I still have to pay the tax for Alemeda County(9%). He said if the seller shipped it I would have been fine.

If there were taxes to be paid, wouldn't the seller/brokerage have paid it?

If I do have to pay it, does that mean I can apply that to LA if/when I pay those taxes?

This sounds ridiculous and I just want to get some advice from people who know more about this or live in CA and know the laws better than I. I just don't want to have to pay taxes when I don't have to, my CPA told me they are pretty aggressive when it comes to this stuff.

Regards,

Ronnie

Old 08-03-2015, 21:42   #2

Re: California Use Tax