Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-08-2014, 10:34   #1

Advice On First Boat

I am looking to purchase my first boat. I have zero experience sailing. My only information on sailing was an informational video on YouTube.

I have been scouring craigslist for a boat that I can learn to sail with on a local lake and I came across this (Need gone moving! Hobie cat 16ft sailboat) and I was wondering if I could use it to learn how to sail?

Also, since I live in the middle of nowhere and cannot take sailing classes or join a club, I was wondering if there are any books that you would recommend to learn about sailboats and sailing?

Thanks for any and all replies.
nookiemrsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2014, 11:31   #2

Boat: 15 foot Canoe
Re: Advice On First Boat

Welcome aboard!

You can learn on a Hobie 16. Try to find the "Start Sailing Right!" if you can. There are lots of basic sailing books out there so if you have a public library or even a good book store near you you'll be able to find something to give what you need to know if you study hard.

That Hobie is a good price but will be hard to move without a trailer unless you live on a lake.

Make certain the owner includes all the rigging and shows you how to set it up.

Good luck.
Old 22-08-2014, 11:52   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

I'd love to have a Hobie to play with, but the water is warm down here too. I think up there you may need a wet suit?
a64pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-08-2014, 12:00   #4

Boat: Wauquiez Hood 38, S/V Invictus

Hello and welcome.

You live in MI, where the water can be cold. And have not sailed before. So, while you CAN learn to sail on a Hobie, I would not recommend it for you.

It is a wet boat, and if you sail it to its edge, or just make some basic mistakes, you will ultimately flip it. In places, such as HI and FL, that is FUN. In MI, I would not think so.