Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-02-2009, 14:09   #1

Boat: Potter 19, Serenity
Bluewater books for a freshwater sailor?

I have been sailing on the great lakes for many years, but I don't have really any experience sailing on the big blue.

Any suggestions on books? I'm not really looking for "adventure" books, per se, but more of guide books, I suppose. I'm most interested in cruising in the caribbean, bahamas, keys, and such. For now, anyway!

I'm not looking for beginners sailing books (i.e. This is called a sail!) but I guess I'd go for anything useful

Thanks in advance!

Chelsea
.~^~ ^~ /_|__\~^~ ~^~...Need a hand on your cruiser?
~^~^ ~ '======' ~^ ~^~
..take me with you! I'm
small
..~^~ ~^ ~^~ ~^~ ~^

Thegirlis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 14:52   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: Gozzard 36
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
I have been sailing on the great lakes for many years, but I don't have really any experience sailing on the big blue.
Once you have mastered the Great Lakes all you do is add tide, current, and too much salt. The rest is pretty much the same. You do have to learn not to drink the water! Seriously, the Great lakes have all the ingredients of big water because they can do the one thing small lakes can't - create their own weather.

You might find some of the Cruising Guides interesting. They are more something you ca read instead of a reference book. Will you be sailing the Potter?
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2009, 15:02   #3

Don't worry, I definitely don't drink the water from lake Erie! Superior, yes, michigan and huron, maybe, Erie... no no no.... haha

I might have to check out some cruising guides...