Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 13-03-2012, 08:38   #1
Marine Service Provider

Startup looking to replace Lead-acid with Nickel-Metal Hydride (NiMH)

Hello all,
I'm a technician for a startup battery company. In my search for new markets I remembered my grandparents lamenting the "stinkpots" on the lakes and lagoons during their sailing trips, and wishing they didn't need to use small gas outboards to navigate congested marinas, etc. It seemed to me that electric motors, which could be either plugged in or charged via wind or solar means, would be preferable. After looking into it, I've noticed a prevailing dissatisfaction with most lead-acid systems used to power on-board electronics and motors. The charging inefficiencies (including the length of time it takes to charge), short lifespan, and maintanance requirements seem to be a fairly big hassle that could take something away from a day (or several) out on the water.
We have bipolar NiMH batteries that can charge (from a fully discharged state to a fully charged state) in an hour without significantly effecting cycle life. The charge acceptance is much more efficient than lead-acid therefore needing less overall energy generation (from solar or wind) to charge. Also for charging with wind turbines, there is practically no need to limit the charge current (for a 50 Ah battery-50 amps, for a 100 Ah battery-100 amps).
I am looking for feedback from potential consumers and from potential partners regarding the replacement of lead-acid batteries with bipolar NiMH batteries. Thanks for your input!

Old 13-03-2012, 09:04   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Boatless Again
Re: Startup looking to replace Lead-acid with Nickel-Metal Hydride (NiMH)

From my experience with laptop batteries, NiMH would be the last thing I would use on my boat.

Old 13-03-2012, 10:17   #3
Marine Service Provider

Don,