Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2015, 07:35   #1

Boat: Searching
To Wrap or not to Wrap

I just purchased a 1980 O'Day 30 and now that it is out of the water and on a cradle outside at the marina, I am wondering if I should have it shrink wrapped for winter. The winters here in Wisconsin can be brutal but is it worth is to wrap a 35 year old boat? (the previous owner did not wrap)
I'm new to sailing this size boat and any and all opinions are welcome. I'd like to know what others in Northern climates do and why.
Garymadhatter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 07:49   #2

Boat: CS36Merlin, "La Belle Aurore"
Re: To Wrap or not to Wrap

Save your money unless you have some really bad leaks or intend to do a lot of work on it during the winter. I have had my boat for 27 years, never been wrapped and it doesn't seem any the worse for wear. But I do notice more and more boats in our club get wrapped every winter. These are usually the new boats joining the club.
Old 06-11-2015, 08:02   #3

Boat: Bristol 29.9

We put a tarp over our boat. We're still able to access the boat during the winter, and we can get more than one season out of it (unlike the shrink wrap).
Old 06-11-2015, 08:04   #4

Thanks Vasco. Even the marina admits that more than half of all boats stored there do not wrap. I would imagine that the ones that do tend to be newer ones.
Old 06-11-2015, 08:06   #5

Location: Quaker Hill, CT (just above the US Coast Guard Academy)
Boat: Silverton 34 Convertible

I was told by my marina that the summer sun does far more damage to fiberglass than the winter cold would ever do...
AfterHoursNLCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 08:07   #6