Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 29-09-2013, 11:23   #1

RYA Day Skipper Distance Learning

Greetings from the United States. I am a relatively novice sailor. I have my "competent crew" and I want to get my Day Skipper certification. I recently had an injury which is going to put me in an orthopedic boot for several months so I thought I would use the time to do one of the RYA Day Skipper theory classes by distance learning, either on-line, cd-rom, book, etc. and go to a center to take the test when I'm fully mobile again. does anybody have any experience with these course and can tell me what experiences you have had with them (good, bad or indifferent) as well as any recommended vendors. Thanks.

Marlo

Old 29-09-2013, 12:12   #2

Boat: Jeanneau 45DS
Hi, I did my day skipper classroom based and my yacht master ( same stuff but more detailed ) online.
I was a complete novice at the time of the day skipper and I think I would have really struggled with the new concepts if alone without a teacher to hand... I was lucky in that I had an excellent teacher! If you have a basic understanding of navigation then you should do fine. A grip of tides, ep's, course to steer etc etc...
Once I had this I enjoyed the yacht master course online. I believe I would have got more from it in a class room but it was a lot cheaper and more convenient for time and it builds in a natural progression on what you already know.

Hope that helps!

Old 29-09-2013, 12:14   #3

Re: RYA Day Skipper Distance Learning

Thanks. What company/school did you use?
Old 29-09-2013, 14:44   #4
Nearly an old salt

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Why would you bother with the theory only courses. The process is only useful if you do the actual practical exams.

Why not just get a book on navigation

This particularly applies to the YM theory course which in my opinion is mis-named as it does not in any way prepare for a YM