Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-08-2017, 19:27   #1

Boat: Swanson 42 & Kelly Peterson 44
New vs Original edition of the Rigger's Apprentice

Hi all,

I had been hanging out for the new edition of the Rigger's Apprentice by Brion Toss. It was released late last year.

But now I am a student again I don't fee all that good about shelling out the $$$ for the book (which I am sure is very good value) and I am wondering if I should just get the original edition secondhand on fleebay.

Has anyone seen the new edition and if so do you feel like commenting on whether the additional material is likely to be useful to someone maintaining a conservative older (1982) heavy cruiser?

Matt
Old 28-08-2017, 20:27   #2

Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!
Re: New vs Original edition of the Rigger's Apprentice

Curious question, as I've not read it yet either. Stumble would know, though I've not seen any posts by him of late.

The Uncommon Thing, The Hard Thing, The Important Thing (in Life): Making Promises to Yourself, And Keeping Them.
UNCIVILIZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2017, 21:57   #3

And I suppose I should ask if there are any alternative books I should consider that I can buy secondhand.

I'm only thinking the Rigger's Apprentice because I am under the IMPRESSION it is one of the most useful for our kind of boat and the maintenance I am likely to need to make.
Old 28-08-2017, 22:16   #4

Boat: Custom cutter, 42'