Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-06-2012, 13:10   #1

TransPac Passenger 1st - Gear Help Please

I've only sailed once, and am very much a novice. I have an opportunity to go from Central California to Hawaii with a friend of mine. I have little knowledge of what a voyage like this requires, and I need to buy some gear (as I will eventually sail my own boat when experienced). As anything else these days, the vast amount of options, types, and technologies is overwhelming, could those who have cruised this passage recommend low to mid budget needs for such a voyage. And will "waterproof" jackets sold for mountaineering work (as they are much cheaper, such as on geartrade dot com). I also need a life jacket with harness. The sailboat I'm going on has no lifelines, so I'm wondering if that effects the type of harness type I should get. Thanks for the helping suggestions. Also, please suggest other gear (besides clothing and lifejacket) that you would suggest I invest in.
Spoooner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2012, 13:36   #2

Boat: Seaward 22
Re: TransPac Passenger 1st - Gear Help Please

for reasonably priced weather gear">foul weather gear try Grundéns - Choose your language commercial fishermen wear them....they work and they are reasonable on the wallet.
ohdrinkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2012, 19:20   #3

Boat: Schucker 436

Wow, no life lines. I would think twice before going on this boat. If you do go, wear a Personal Locator Beacon that has an internal gps and also has a strobe light. Your life must be worth $300. Good luck, it may be a trip that many sailors dream about.
RUSTYNAIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2012, 00:34   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter