Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2017, 15:21   #1

PFD - Where to start

Hello all,

I did look though the past 2 years of posts and looked at every PFD post. There is good information there. Some of the info seems dated and wanted to get more recent comments on this.

I'm a newbie and need a PFD so that I can start crewing locally to get my feet wet. The goal would be to get something light, comfortable, safe, reliable and from a reputable company (not in that order). I'm leaning towards an HIT version with harness attachment. I would prefer having face/head shield, strobe and space to include an EPIRB.

I've been looking at Mustang, Onyx, and West Marine.

Are there any other manufacturers that I should be looking at (I'm in the U.S.)? Or specific models that you have had good luck with?

Please - not trying to start a flame war. Just want to have a solid place to look. Most of the reviews I've found online seem somewhat tainted from an advertising stand point. Also - can't tell if any of the Amazon review are coming from experienced sailors.

Thank you in Advance. Cheers!
WestCoastRix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2017, 15:38   #2

Boat: Valiant 40
Re: PFD - Where to start

I don't know if the Mustang has a spray hood or strobe. Mine, a few years old with harness, does not. However I fit a small ACR strobe inside the cover that activates when the vest inflates.

You won't have room for an EPIRB. If you buy a PLB, the personal version, you can attach it to the harness on the exterior.

You should also be looking at Spinlock. They are more expensive, but racers prefer them because they are generally more comfortable than other brands. They also have a spray hood and a strobe that pops up on a wand when the vest inflates.