Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2012, 16:01   #31
Marine Service Provider

Re: Life Raft Self-Service

I have been replacing rafts for about 30 years. Winslow is one brand that I a certified to service. Answering some of the questions raised:

All rafts don't pack the same way. Part of the folding is to obtain right side up inflation (you also want to ensure nothing fouls).

The Mirada 3000 valve has o-rings that need to be replaced every 6 years (remember the space shuttle's o-ring problem). This is one of the more critical items and failure of an o-ring means you don't have a life raft. Filling this valve takes a special adapter that fire extinguisher companies will not have.

When I first started servicing rafts I used a fire extinguisher company to refill my cylinders. I very quickly learned they could not keep within the tolerances required. The pressure relief valves can only handle so much excess gas. By the way this raft uses a blend of carbon dioxide and nitrogen, straight CO2 will freeze in the inflation system.

Good luck and think twice.
liferaft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2012, 17:04   #32
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

"The Mirada 3000 valve has o-rings that need to be replaced every 6 years (remember the space shuttle's o-ring problem)."

The space shuttle's problem was actually not from the age of the o-rings, but because they were not intended to be used in such cold conditions. Not at all, not even once.

So, are the Miranda o-rings....what? A cheaper elastomer that breaks down in 6 years? Or under such extreme stress that they can't last longer?

I'm used to routine maintenance and pm replacement of o-rings in some applications but the manufacturers of that equipment state it right up front. And the o-rings are cheaply and easily replaced.

Is the Miranda typical, or special? Are life raft o-rings in general frail? Highly stressed while not in use?