Cruisers Forum

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-04-2011, 20:43   #226
JRM

Boat: Valiant 40
Re: How Many EPIRBS and Liferafts ever Save Lives ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by estarzinger View Post
Quote:
Terrific. We can agree on that.

but I can cite you multiple examples of vessel fires (and a whole lot more fires in general) that have absolutely nothing to do improper maintenance.

Please give me a few short examples. I would like to understand them for my own benefit. I can understand lightening and I can understand fires that jump from another poorly maintained boat or dock. But please give me some direction on fires that start on board the vessel in question - which could not have been prevented by complete maintenance and inspection and could not be put out by proper extinguisher systems? I am always eager to learn from those with broad and professional experience and training.

I should note that professionally I have some experience with QA in jet engine building and maintenance (at GE). I know what results can be accomplished to prevent and avoid 'safety' issues when you put the effort in.
Bummer. I had a full reply to this, and lost it. Here's the short version.

I've only had a half dozen boat fires that I've personally been on. I spent a total of about 30 months total working in the harbor, and for the last 16 or so I've been too far north to be included on the ticket. I still occasionally work extra shifts down there, but not overly many.