Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-08-2010, 06:19   #1
Registered User
 
Sabbatical II's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lake Macquarie
Boat: Bluewater 420 CC
Posts: 756
Images: 1
Which Charts for MaxSea TimeZero ?

I am unfamiliar with electronic navigation gear and frankly find the choices bewildering. I am leaning towards getting a Furuno electronics package including a Navnet 3D / TimeZero multi function unit. I want worldwide charts and have no idea of which charting system will work well with TimeZero. Can I have some opinions please ? I'm very computer challenged so please pretend you are explaining it to your grandmother.

Thanks
Greg
__________________
Greg
Sabbatical II is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2010, 07:10   #2
cruiser

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
All of the chart data for MaxSea Time Zero is produced by MapMedia, a sister company of MaxSea. You'll have a pretty good selection from multiple locations for worldwide charts. You can get their S-57 data, Navionics, or Jeppesen C-Map, along with a variety of raster chart support. In all cases, they process the charts and sell them in a bundle that takes advantage of MSTZ's incredible speed.

As a dealer for MSTZ, I've looked at a lot of the chart data. I really like the Jeppesen C-Map data regions especially for the Caribbean. If the Bahamas/Caribbean is in your plans, the Jeppesen/C-Map data from MapMedia is the way to go. And of course you can mix and match data from different providers for different parts of the world. It's a really nice, flexible system.
__________________
ActiveCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-08-2010, 11:15   #3
Registered User
 
Sabbatical II's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lake Macquarie
Boat: Bluewater 420 CC
Posts: 756
Images: 1
The Sydney agent has told me that the charts are already loaded onto the NavNet 3D unit. All we have to do is unlock (and pay for) the required areas. If I run a radar and an AIS unit, can this all run and overlay on the screen without the laptop and MaxSea being turned on or even connected?
.......and if I take my laptop home, the charts are on the Navnet 3D unit, so I can't sit in my loungroom to plan my escape - have I understood this correctly or do I have to download other charting software for my laptop? Thanks for your help so far Jeffery!!!

Greg
__________________
Greg
Sabbatical II is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charts, maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MapTech charts in MaxSea Gisle Navigation 6 10-06-2015 17:14
For Sale: Maxsea Time Zero Navigator + AIS module + East Coast Australia Charts + All US Charts TrevC Classifieds Archive 10 28-07-2010 10:05
Anyone with MaxSea TimeZero Explorer Yet? s/v Jedi Navigation 20 05-01-2010 19:27
Navnet3d / Maxsea Time Zero Mapmedia Charts for Australia - Screenshots ? TrevC Navigation 0 09-12-2009 18:23
MaxSea V10 & CM93 Charts topaz Navigation 15 15-06-2009 06:23



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.