Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 24-04-2014, 18:27   #1

St. Augustine, FL to Norfolk, VA in May?

I'm a newbie to offshore passage making (1 gulf crossing, 4 Galveston to Port A runs & 1 FFL to St Augustine) and am looking at moving my 41' Morgan Classic to Jordan Pt. on the James River in May. Any advice? Links I can read? Most of the posts I've found talk about North to South. I did read some of the Cape Hatteras posts but, they talk about early spring/ late fall.

What I think I know:
1. Don't try it in any north winds
2. Stay away from Cape Hatteras
3. Take the ditch if there is any doubt

Specifically I'd like to know:
1. Should I grab the near edge, far edge, or middle of the Gulf Stream?
2. Where should I get in/out?
3. What are the max winds I should consider in my weather window?
4. S? SE? SW?
5. Can I use only VHF for weather?
6. Best/worst ports in a storm?
7. Can I expect to make it in 10 days max with a good window?
8. What kind of seas can I expect in a good weather window?
9. Should I hire someone with local knowledge and experience?
10. Anything and everything else

P.S. The boat is in a lot better shape than I am. New sails, standing & running rigging, multiple anchors, new chain, lots of safety stuff including life raft and EPIRBs, ditch bag, chart plotter w/ radar, good motor…ect

Note: Minimal 1 addtional crew member w/ no experience. Posible 2-4 members, some w/ experience

Capt Shad

Capt Shad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2014, 19:41   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422
Re: St. Augustine, FL to Norfolk, VA in May?

So many options it's hard to say what exactly to do.

If on a schedule, first you will have to play it by ear. Bad weather if not really bad, you can stay in the ditch. Good weather or fair winds go outside.

A few random comments and suggestions.