Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31-03-2017, 06:30   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Lancaster Co., PA/North East, MD
Boat: Watkins 27
Posts: 117
Send a message via Yahoo to deltaten
Si-Tex equipment???

I'm looking into nav. equipment and found Si-Tex svs-760c chartp!otter. Read all about the "biggies" for years, yet know little about S-T gear. Company blurbs are scant of specs and data.
Anyone here have actual use experience ; re: quality, ergonomics, intuitivity, input on Navionics+ software, etc??

TIA,
Paul
__________________

deltaten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 04:42   #2
Registered User
 
caradow's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Connecticut/Caribbean
Boat: Voyage 440 Owners Version
Posts: 482
Re: Si-Tex equipment???

Wish I could be more helpful however since no one seems to have any experience with Si-Tex i will say I have a Si-Tex AIS Transponder that has worked perfectly for the last two years.
My local electronics guy who has many of the local commercial fisherman in the area talked me into it when I was shopping around. Stated his commercial guys use a lot of the Si-Tex stuff year round and are happy with it. In the past he has always installed Furano and Raymarine on my boats but suggested Si-Tex on this occasion.
Good luck.
__________________

caradow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 04:54   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,459
Re: Si-Tex equipment???

They seem low pitch generic and not too bad at all. I have seen Si-Tex stuff made exact copies of NASA (the British nasa not the american one ;-) - e.g. their HF receiver. Also their AIS receiver seems a generic product.

They have been around for a time now. This is always good news.

b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 13:38   #4
Registered User
 
River Cruiser's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UMR mm 283 /winter in Kansas
Boat: Bayliner 3870 41' oal.
Posts: 848
Re: Si-Tex equipment???

I have Si-Tex radar it's MDS 10-5 4kw open array. This radar was used on several different manufacturers plotters, I used it with Si-Tex Colormax wide display and they both were very dependable. I switched to 2 Standard Horizon 12" MFDs and still using the MDS radar, it's even better on the larger screen. I sold the Si-Tex displays to a friend who still uses them, I wouldn't hesitate to buy Si-Tex electronics again. Another plus is their customer service was always very helpful during the installation, data wiring and set-up on my boat.
River Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 14:16   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Deale, MD
Boat: North End Marine - Stellar 30
Posts: 130
Re: Si-Tex equipment???

This is pure conjecture on my part, but it appears to me, after looking at several of their products, that they generally re-brand other manufacturers' stuff.

It's not always the same manufacturer, but they seem to pick reliable lower priced options, and repackage / re-brand them with better documentation and support.

It's an interesting business strategy, IF that is in fact what they are doing, and it certainly appears that way.
mogulskibum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 14:49   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NH
Boat: sabre 28
Posts: 162
Re: Si-Tex equipment???

I had really good luck with Sitex on a couple of sport fishing boats I owned in the 80's & 90's.
Whether they're a nock off of someone elses product today, don't know.
__________________
I'm not happy unless I'm complaining about something. I'm having a very good day!
misfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2017, 15:00   #7
Registered User
 
River Cruiser's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UMR mm 283 /winter in Kansas
Boat: Bayliner 3870 41' oal.
Posts: 848
Re: Si-Tex equipment???

Quote:
Originally Posted by mogulskibum View Post
This is pure conjecture on my part, but it appears to me, after looking at several of their products, that they generally re-brand other manufacturers' stuff.

It's not always the same manufacturer, but they seem to pick reliable lower priced options, and repackage / re-brand them with better documentation and support.

It's an interesting business strategy, IF that is in fact what they are doing, and it certainly appears that way.


I kinda thought it was just the opposite, other manufacturers rebrand Si-Tex equipment. The MDS series radar would work with Lowrance, Standard Horizon, Nobeltec and Northstar were some of the ones it was compatible with. Si-Tex Koden is on the label on my unit.
__________________

River Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
equipment, men

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No ETA Option on New SI-Tex Chartplotters rami Marine Electronics 1 02-08-2011 08:13
Marine Tex in Pitted Max-Prop ? svdate Propellers & Drive Systems 16 13-07-2011 19:32
Si-Tex Radar / Plotter ? Surf City Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 4 29-03-2010 18:12
Si-Tex Explorer Plus rustypirate Marine Electronics 3 26-11-2009 22:48
size of gor-tex packing atlantic high Construction, Maintenance & Refit 1 05-01-2009 07:56



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.