Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 26-08-2014, 14:13   #1

Selecting charts

Hi,

First of all, this is my first post, so be kind!

I was curious how you cruisers go about selecting charts for new sailing areas? I know NOAA offers free downloads of their charts, but selecting the right ones on their site seems a bit clunky.

I built a site on which you can place your waypoints, and the relevant charts show up with download links for PDF and BSB versions.
charts la carte!

I've found it pretty useful so far, but would like to get some feedback. Perhaps there is some easy way I'm overlooking (I'm pretty new to all this).

Thanks!
abacaxi

Old 27-08-2014, 14:12   #2

Boat: Gib'Sea 302, 30' - Hydra
Re: Selecting charts

Welcome to CruisersForum, abacaxi
When planning a cruise in a new area, I usually do it in 3 steps:

1- I get a set of small-scale (1:150,000 to 1:600,000) charts for this area, to decide if it is really worth cruising.

2- I get a cruising guide to have pictures and some information about the sailing conditions (climate, tides, etc.).

3- With that information, I define more precisely the area I will be able to cruise in one season and I get the large-scale (1:60,000 to 1:10,000) charts for this area, generally with a big margin: sometimes, the conditions are better than anticipated and I am able to go farther than planned.

I use paper charts (expensive, heavy and cumbersome in the boat but reliable).

In addition to that, I have a "Navionics Silver" chip with charts covering W and S Europe from Norway to Turkey, but without the details. As I noticed some errors, I don't trust this fully for navigation but it is useful in the planning stage.

Alain

Old 28-08-2014, 04:19   #3

Boat: MacGregor 25', Columbia 26 Classic

Cool site abacaxi. Well done.
Old 28-08-2014, 04:51   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, abacaxi.

GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-08-2014, 05:03   #5