Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-11-2013, 21:02   #1

Question Seeking ideas for use of satellite phone

Further to my post at http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...ia-115866.html

I am a programmer. I don't boat, but my friend has a yacht.

I mentioned a cheap ($US600 or so) satellite modem, which which means communication anywhere at sea, even out of radio range, and he seemed interested.

It is cheap because it is "low data rate". That means no phone calls, but it is perfect for Machine To Machine communication. Approximately 1kB every second or two, but so long as we are in no hurry that an add up over a few minutes - just nothing real-time.

I can think of:
  • Weather forecasts
  • SMS
  • Email (might have to be text only, no images)
  • Possibly fax, if not in a hurry
  • Distress beacon
  • Regular auto-post of location to FaceBook/Twitter

Can you make more suggestions or what I might offer him?

Thanks for any help
SALT108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2013, 16:47   #2

Re: Seeking ideas for use of satellite phone

Again, these are on the market already.. Just enter your questions as terms in google
Littlechay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2013, 20:22   #3

Oh, I "sea". Not being ocean going, I was not aware.

I will obviously google, but am unsure what I should be googling for. Is there any other nice stuff which I should be aware of?

I would like to program something to help my friend, but, as you said, no need to reinvent the life belt.