Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-07-2008, 21:42   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
SeaClear Com Port Problem

Hello,

I am trying to set SeaClear up on an older IBM thinkpad. It has a serial port and it is enabled.

When I start SeaClear, I get "can not open com port 1". SeaClear is set for Com port 1.

Any ideas what I have set up wrong either in SeaClear or in the computer?

Tom
__________________

__________________
tomowens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008, 03:24   #2
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: ODAY 35
Posts: 1,016
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Are you using the Thinkpad Configuration Utility to enable the comport? Do a search on "Thinkpad Configuration Utility".

Also can you get anything else besides SeaClear to receive anything on the comport like the Hyper Terminal?

Paul
__________________

__________________
phiggins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008, 04:58   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 2,869
Check the Device Manager to make sure that your serial port GPS is being assigned to COM1--if its another port, change the SeaClear tools/properties/Comm.

Make sure the baud rate matches, usually 4800 baud, but can be 2400 or 38400.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008, 07:03   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,694
Images: 14
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Don't turn on the GPS until after you boot the system and Windows has loaded and you are logged in looking at the desktop. Windows has a nasty habit of grabing the GPS signal and assuming it is a mouse. It does it not every time but almost most of the time. Makes for some fun adventures and will drive you nuts.
__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-07-2008, 20:52   #5
Registered User
 
scotte's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Boat: Privilege 39
Posts: 664
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pblais View Post
Windows has a nasty habit of grabing the GPS signal and assuming it is a mouse. It does it not every time but almost most of the time. Makes for some fun adventures and will drive you nuts.
Fix for this: Overview of the COMDisable Tool . Despite the name and poor documentation, this does not actually disable the COM port, it just tells Windows crappy device driver to not assume the COM port has a serial mouse. Considering that MS has known about this for 7+ years you'd think they would have actually fixed the bug instead of providing this workaround. Anyway, hope it's helpful.
__________________
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-07-2008, 18:30   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Sea Clear Com Port Problems

Thank you for the three replies. Still no success on this end. Here is where I am. Any more help would be appreciated.

I can not find Thinkpad configuration utility. I am running XP.

The Garmin GPS 48 is set to NEMA/NEMA using NEMA 0183 2.0 at 4800 baud.

Com Port 1 is enable via device manager. It is at 4800 baud, 8 bit etc. It is set for device instance ID.

............

With the GPS connected or not connected, when I start SeaClear, I get "could not open Communication Port 1". Clicking OK gets me to SeaClear with no GPS input.

I do not have another serial port device to try the port.

I suspect that the prior owner set the computer us so that the comport could not be used. This is a guess.

Any more suggestions would be appreciated.

Tom
__________________
tomowens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2008, 03:50   #7
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: ODAY 35
Posts: 1,016
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
I have a copy of the the Thinkpad Configuration utility. You have to use it to turn on the comport in the bios of a thinkpad. Its called 1xu503u1.exe if you can't find it PM me with your email address and I will send you a copy.

Paul
__________________
phiggins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2008, 04:33   #8
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Boat: ODAY 35
Posts: 1,016
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Try here for the Configuration Utilitity. Its probably more up to date than my copy:

Lenovo Support & downloads - Configuration utility for Windows 95, 98, 98SE, Me, 2000, XP - ThinkPad

Paul
__________________
phiggins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2008, 08:40   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Houston TX
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 25 "Turtle"
Posts: 364
Images: 35
Try this......

First be sure, by checking in "My Computer", which comport your GPS is REALLY using. My ancient(still has a 3.5 floppy drive and 2 serial ports) HP laptop only has 3 USB ports but lists my GPS as using commport 7 and the AIS as using commport 8. Why is this? Beats me, but it is. I must also plug both into the SAME USB port(ie the GPS goes in the port on the side of the 'puter and the AIS goes in the upper of the 2 ports on the back) every time or I confuse the 'puter and Seaclear.

Once you're sure which port your GPS is using open Seaclear, close the "cannot open port 1". Go to Tools(upper right), Properties, Comm. Be sure TxRx1 is set to the correct commport for your GPS and the rate is set at 4800 baud. Click SAVE. I have found that using a USB antenna instead of a GPS with Seaclear works just fine and since I can't hook it into the chartplotter on the boat anyway, this works for me.

Once again, don't ask me how or why it works because I can't tell you. I CAN tell you it does. I can plot waypoints and routes using Seaclear by piddling around with the ROUTES menu until I remember how to do it.

Being a Ludite has its advantages although I can't think of any beyond not having to suffer through the first several incarnations of any given technology. Remember $500 digital watches?

Have fun and don't get frustrated. Seaclear does work and once you figure it out you'll love it...........martin
__________________
I must go down to the sea again.........
cantxsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2008, 12:36   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puget Sound
Boat: 1981 C&C 34
Posts: 49
Just try all ports in SeaClear until you get one that doesn't produce the "cannot open.." message. Then use Tools | System | NMEA Input Monitor to see if any data is flowing.
__________________
JohnWms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2008, 17:07   #11
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 2,869
see if you can find the hyperterminal program under programs/accessories/communications. Run hyperterminal, create a new connection using COM1, set the baud rate to 4800, and see what happens.

If the screen starts filling with data lines that begin with $G, your gps and the com port are working, and you have a SeaClear problem. If you get no data, you have a com port or GPS problem.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2008, 19:17   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
SeaClear Com Port Problem

Don et al,

OK, I got hyperterminal downloaded and set up the comport. I get the $G stuff when the GPS is connected.

So, I guess I am down to a SeaClear problem.

What do you suggest?

Thanks

Tom
__________________
tomowens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2008, 19:30   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
SeaClear Com Port Problem

Hello all,

Well, by going from com port to com port, I got it working. I wound up with SeaClear on com 3. So the key was setting up the comport using hyperterminal, then trying all the comports.

Thanks to everyone that provided advice.

Tom
__________________
tomowens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-2008, 19:34   #14
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 2,869
Go to the SeaClear directory and open the SEACLEAR_2 configuration file (with notepad).

Check to make sure that
Com Port=1
BaudRateId=5

If it doesn't, edit the configuratin file and save it, then try reopening seaclear.

If it the config file has the right com port and baudrateid, I'm stumped.
__________________

__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SeaClear Tropic Cat Navigation 205 22-03-2012 13:27
Downloaded SeaClear 11 bcguy General Sailing Forum 14 13-06-2009 04:20
SeaClear help ezeb1473 Navigation 5 17-09-2008 08:09
Seaclear and G7towin cal40john Navigation 1 16-11-2007 18:46
Military port? Civilian port? Amgine Indian Ocean & Red Sea 1 21-09-2007 09:37


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

RV & Travel Trailer Communities

Our RV & Travel Trailer sites encompasses virtually all types of Recreational Vehicles, from brand-specific to general RV communities.

» More about our RV Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:16.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.