Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2008, 14:16   #106
Registered User
 
captintommy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Boat: Beneteau 321 Andrea Lynn
Posts: 58
Images: 1
I had posted a question about Sea clear on another thread and was directed to this thread. I am happy to see that others are using it and are pleased as I am. I would ask a question on down loading charts, but I am afraid that I will get an answer! And I won't understand!
I have just learned how to get caps off beer that don't screw off.
You guys are great at answering questions. I have had answers to problems that I now know I needed.
I am so pleased that I found this Forum. Please keep putting up with me and thanks to all of you that take the time to help others.
Tom
__________________

__________________
You can't drown a man thats destined to hang!!!
captintommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 15:18   #107
Registered User
 
Ramona's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NSW Australia
Boat: Currawong 30 - Ramona
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by captintommy View Post
I had posted a question about Sea clear on another thread and was directed to this thread. I am happy to see that others are using it and are pleased as I am. I would ask a question on down loading charts, but I am afraid that I will get an answer! And I won't understand!
I use Seaclear on my professional fishing vessel using a home PC with a 17 inch Lcd screen. No problems with electricity or cabin space. Superb bit of kit. The charts I use are digital navy charts off a cd. I have scanned charts as well but digital is really the only way to go.

The instructions on how to load charts and calibrate is confusing to say the least. The designer of the programme is Dutch and the translation to English is poor. I had to print out the instructions and set them up next to the computer to make some sense of them. I use a picture programme [ACDsee] to modify chart sizes etc, then upload to the programme using the programme associated with Seaclear [name escapes me at the moment]. It is fiddly no doubt but once set up is superb. Also because its free you can run it on several computers, do it all at home on your computer and load info on to memory sticks or burn cds and just have fun.

If you have not already I would suggest you join this dedicated GPS forum. Its a world wide forum with the major gps programme designers onboard.
gps-navigator : GPS and utilities
__________________

__________________
Ramona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 17:02   #108
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21
Images: 1
I see that SeaClear displays AIS information...in fact, that's why I downloaded it in the first place....well, that and the fact that I like the price.

Intuitive, it ain't, but I'll figure it out.

I see from the manual that when a dectected AIS signal has a Closest Point of Approach that's within a setting you define, the sofware will throw up a circle around the vessel in question. Does anybody know how to get it to make some hellacious noise, as well?

Regarding interfcing with your GPS, you can pick up a USB GPS receiver off of ebay for twenty bucks and shipping. This doesn't need batteries, doesn't use up your one and only serial port (which I will have dedicated to my AIS receiver, and sending e-mail, will have the Iridium phone plugged in). I hear tell that they work just fine.
__________________
Alan H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 18:17   #109
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,271
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Hi,

We just figured out how to make SeaClear's sound work over on the XO Thread. Its documented in the Manual:

; Default warning sound .wav file:
; If no path is specified, it is assumed to be located in the Windows directory.
Sound1=DING.WAV ; Default Warning Sound
; To replace default sound with other .wav file:
Sound XTE R=FileName ; For XTE Right Warning Sound
Sound XTE L= FileName ; For XTE Left Warning Sound
Sound NMEA= FileName ; For No NMEA Warning Sound
Sound Dpt=FileName ; For Depth Warning Sound
Sound AIS CPA=Filename ; For AIS CPA Warning Sound
Use “NONE” as filename to disable a specific sound warning.

Don't know why the author did it this way. If you don't have ding.wav in the windows directory it won't work. Of course you can replace it with another .wav and then change the .INI file.

Paul
__________________
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 18:43   #110
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
Hi,

We just figured out how to make SeaClear's sound work over on the XO Thread. Its documented in the Manual:

; Default warning sound .wav file:
; If no path is specified, it is assumed to be located in the Windows directory.
Sound1=DING.WAV ; Default Warning Sound
; To replace default sound with other .wav file:
Sound XTE R=FileName ; For XTE Right Warning Sound
Sound XTE L= FileName ; For XTE Left Warning Sound
Sound NMEA= FileName ; For No NMEA Warning Sound
Sound Dpt=FileName ; For Depth Warning Sound
Sound AIS CPA=Filename ; For AIS CPA Warning Sound
Use “NONE” as filename to disable a specific sound warning.

Don't know why the author did it this way. If you don't have ding.wav in the windows directory it won't work. Of course you can replace it with another .wav and then change the .INI file.

Paul
FAntastic. I'm going to make my own "ding.wav" file which is a thirty seconds of me screaming WAKE UP, WAKE UP, YOU FLIPPING IDIOT, YOU'RE GOING TO DIE!! over and over again at top volume, while behind me, the most obnoxious buzzer I can find shatters the peace.

My wife thanks you for this.
__________________
Alan H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2008, 15:29   #111
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
I have just set up SeaClear and downloaded some charts. The only problem I am having is setting the Chart Priority. This is necessary so you can have it display the correct chart automatically when 2 or more charts cover the same area.
You want it to show the harbor chart in harbor and not the approach chart!
Using the SeaClear Calibration Utility and selecting Edit Chart Information shows the Priority on the chart, but is read-only when I load an existing chart. It can only be changed when I am creating a chart.

Does anyone know how to change the priority for existing charts?
__________________
Gene1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2008, 16:44   #112
Registered User
 
scotte's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Boat: Privilege 39
Posts: 664
I don't know if it helps for your situation, but you can tell it to always use the best scale, or optionally a particular scale. Right click in the main map window, select "Preferred Charts" and make sure 'Max Scale' is selected, or click 'Set Preferred' and change the value. I have never used chart priority, but I see the same thing - you can't change it for an existing chart.

Hope it helps, sorry if it doesn't!
__________________
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 06:30   #113
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 8
I don't know if it helps for your situation, but you can tell it to always use the best scale, or optionally a particular scale. Right click in the main map window, select "Preferred Charts" and make sure 'Max Scale' is selected, or click 'Set Preferred' and change the value. I have never used chart priority, but I see the same thing - you can't change it for an existing chart.

Hope it helps, sorry if it doesn't!

Thanks Scotte.
I will try that.
__________________
Gene1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 08:20   #114
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Boat: Morgan, O.I. 33' Dutch Treat
Posts: 414
Keep an eye on the Google Earth softwere, very nice easy to use.


John
__________________
johnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 08:47   #115

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12,167
John, keep two eyes on GoogleEarth. At least on this computer--it is toxic to Vista/SP1 in the most recent (4.2, 4.3) releases. Install GE, and the computer doesn't hibernate/rewake properly. Uninstall it, and the computer works properly again. Kinda points a finger at one culprit, doesn't it?

They've been through two releases in the last month or so, so I'm hoping they'll get this one cleaned up Real Soon Now.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 09:19   #116
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2008
Boat: Morgan, O.I. 33' Dutch Treat
Posts: 414
wow didnt know that
__________________
johnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 11:47   #117
Senior Cruiser
 
Therapy's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: W Florida
Boat: The Jon boat still, plus a 2007 SeaCat.
Posts: 6,838
Images: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by hellosailor View Post

They've been through two releases in the last month or so, so I'm hoping they'll get this one cleaned up Real Soon Now.
"They" being Google or Vista?
__________________
Therapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 12:13   #118

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 12,167
"They" being Google. MS provides inside support for most major vendors, so if Google finds the problem is in Vista, they can make a phone call about it. But since no application can run without an OS, it behooves Google (like any other vendor) to make sure their application runs on the OSes that are on the market. And Vista, like it or not, is the lead OS on the "personal" market right now. There may be more XP installations--but XP sales are also tombstoned already. XP is a moot point.

It might not be a G.E. problem, but from here, preliminary conclusions are "Citizen, j'accuse!"

Could the mix be more subtle? Sure. But I have faith in the Googloids, they can figure it out.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 13:32   #119
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,700
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Quote:
John, keep two eyes on GoogleEarth. At least on this computer--it is toxic to Vista/SP in the most recent (4.2, 4.3)
Works fine for me. Vista SP and GE version 4.3.

Latest word is XP no longer will ship from OEM's as of June 30, 2008. The choice option is almost gone.
__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2008, 13:57   #120
Registered User
 
Zephyr's Aura's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: North Carolina, USA
Boat: Dufour Arpege 30
Posts: 93
I've used SeaClear II for several years. It has worked very well for me. I use my laptop and a Garmin GPS V connected through serial/USB connection. The Raster charts for the US and Caribbean are free from NOAA but were difficult to find when I was in Argentina and Uruguay. I had to buy them from the hydrographic office. About $50.00 US.

The laptop uses allot of power and my solar panel wouldn't keep up so I had to charge the batteries with the motor. It does have the capability to plan on the computer and transfer the waypoints to the GPS. This works well but I prefer to have the chart up where I can see it.
__________________

__________________
Zephyr's Aura is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SeaClear and CM-93 bg9208 Navigation 26 27-11-2010 04:26
For Sale: SeaClear Unleashed r.fairman Classifieds Archive 0 25-04-2010 05:37
(Yet Another) SeaClear II Issue... SailorKeddy Navigation 1 21-04-2010 15:03
Downloaded SeaClear 11 bcguy General Sailing Forum 14 13-06-2009 04:20
SeaClear help ezeb1473 Navigation 5 17-09-2008 08:09


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.