Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2009, 08:28   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Paraty
Boat: Multichine 37 - Steel Sloop
Posts: 16
I really appreciate all answer and help.

But I keep on looking for a solution.... ;(

Thank you all (and sorry for the many posts, I wanst receiving the emails...)


danrochas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:58   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the golden state
Boat: pilot cutter
Posts: 289
Originally Posted by danrochas View Post
Daunting they are indeed!!

I've tried the solutions you propose and by now am quite aware of this issues when connecting this devices.

The problem, as I've stated on other post is that SEACLEAR cannot open ports!!! The device manager in windows does not even shows any ports if the isn't anything connected to the.

I need a insight!!

For me this is turning from daunting to haunting!!!

Why after a couple of hours trying different possibilities it just works and after I close and open it again it stops working?


Don't use SeaClear to 'open ports'. Use the GPS 'test' program that comes with your GPS to initialize the GPS, then close it and open SeaClear. SeaClear will then usually see the GPS.

You see, the problem comes when different software(s) like to configure the GPS setting for their own use. Usually, those settings are different for differing programs. For example, the Delorme GPS 'test' program for the Earthmate likes to see the GPS firmware set to USB mode, while the Seaclear soltware wants the GPS set to 'generic', with an assigned com port, 4500 baud rate, 8 data bits, and 1 stop bit. (By the same token, you may need to manually assign the GPS a com port, & baud rate, data, stop bits -- in the Windows device manager -- yeah, I know...its a USB, but it still can be assigned a (virtual) com port --before SeaClear will 'recognize' or 'see' it.

One other patient, as sometimes it takes several minutes before SeaClear will see the GPS unit, as the GPS has to acquire the satellites and a signal before SeaClear will accept it, apparently. Patience is a virtue

Not Sure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 09:08   #18
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 3,720
Hyperterminal is part of Windows, usually found in the Accessories/Communications part of 'all programs'. When it asks how to connect, select the appropriate com port, then set the baud rate on the next screen. You should get a window which is filling with NMEA data. See NMEA data for interpreting the data. If you get garbage, try changing the baud rate.
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 09:19   #19
Marine Service Provider
W32PAMELA's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wewahitchka, FL
Boat: Westsail 32 - Pamela
Posts: 260
Originally Posted by danrochas View Post
Hey Bob.

I wish it was that simple! I tried all combinations for sure.

Even without anything connected to the laptop the SEACLEAR 99% of time say it cannot open the com port, whichever tha is. 3, 4, 137...

Any new ideas?
Try the following for diagnostic purposes.

1. Boot your computer without the GPS connected.
2. After the boot is complete open the device manager and expand "Ports"
3. Plug in your GPS.

At this point XP should go "Ding Dong" and the device manager should update showing "Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port (Com X)".

If this happens then you should be able to load SeaClear, go to Tools-->Properties-->Comm tab and set the appropriate Com number and baud rate and SeaClear will open the port. Check that SeaClear is reading the data by going to Tools-->System-->NMEA Input Monitor and seeing the NMEA sentences scroll thru the window.

If the device manager doesn't see the GPS then it is not SeaClear with the problem. It would be the operating system not detecting the GPS.
Bob Stewart
W32PAMELA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2009, 11:05   #20
Registered User
bitman's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: EU
Boat: EliBit, Evolution 25
Posts: 140
if your box has more usb ports... then use that usb port what was working fine the first time.

my setup; maxsea, bu 353, eeepc901 & trackball.

my eeepc has 1 usb on port and 2 usb ports on starboard. i have installed the bu 353 on the starboard aft usb port and all works fine. but if i plug the bu 353 in any other usb port it doesn't work. maxsea while starting up will tell me can't open com port bla bla.

so this might be your problem too?

bitman is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BU 353 & Nobeltec 4. xx Problems Melekai Navigation 7 25-03-2013 11:09
AIS/Garmin/Sea Clear sabray Navigation 1 27-03-2011 12:22
Garmin 276c ==> Sea Clear II via USB iSailor Marine Electronics 3 16-09-2008 12:25
Clear title Herbseesmoore Dollars & Cents 14 14-08-2008 21:20
Settings for Fugawi 4 and GlobalSat BU-353 GPS?? ssullivan Navigation 4 02-01-2007 13:31

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.