Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-02-2011, 11:45   #1
Registered User
 
Sandyh's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittwater, NSW, Australia
Boat: Seawind 1000XL "Crew Rest"
Posts: 53
Raymarine C-80 on the Blink !?

Hi All!

Our C-80 has gone on the blink, literally!

Connected it up and operating fine with good GPS signal, but within a few minutes, the screen started cycling between the start-up screen and going blank. Tried turning it off to re-boot and the on/off button doesn't work.

Took power off it and re-applied, but got the same result instantly, so the on/off switch doesn't work or something more sinister is happening.

Anyone out there seen this before?

Cheers
__________________

__________________
Sandyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2011, 12:22   #2
Registered User
 
FraidNot's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2009
Boat: Oceanis 411
Posts: 239
Re: Raymarine C-80 on the blink!?

might have a loose card inside.
give it a few taps.
works for mine!
__________________

__________________
FraidNot
FraidNot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2011, 18:54   #3
Registered User
 
r.furborough's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Boat: Freedom 32 (Hoyt)
Posts: 223
Re: Raymarine C-80 on the blink!?

Check on of the push buttons has not got trapped under the bezel, if not check for a poor 12vdc supply to the machine, look particularly at the pins in the connector, from your description you connect and disconnect regularly.
__________________
------------------------------------------------
the memories of a man in his old age, are the dreams of a man in his prime
Pink Floyd - 'Free Four'
r.furborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2011, 18:57   #4
CF Adviser
 
Bash's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: sausalito
Boat: 14 meter sloop
Posts: 7,260
Re: Raymarine C-80 on the blink!?

that's a common problem, and I've had to deal with my own c-80 that exhibited this exact behavior.

what probably happened is you left the track function on, and it finally overwhelmed the memory. Do a system re-set and you'll solve the problem.

You might also want to check to see whether you have the latest version of the program software installed. I understand that they've attempted to correct this is the latest version.
__________________
cruising is entirely about showing up--in boat shoes.
Bash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2011, 01:16   #5
Registered User
 
Sandyh's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittwater, NSW, Australia
Boat: Seawind 1000XL "Crew Rest"
Posts: 53
Re: Raymarine C-80 on the blink!?

Bash,

From what my fixer says, that sounds like it. Will let you know.

Cheers
__________________
Sandyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raymarine motion30 Marine Electronics 1 20-11-2010 17:07
Raymarine X-5 Help mkeller23173 Marine Electronics 0 14-07-2010 11:41
Raymarine Chartplotter 'Blink' ... gbanker Marine Electronics 0 29-04-2010 17:06
Raymarine ST60 and Raymarine C80 Pete7 Marine Electronics 8 26-10-2009 23:20
Raymarine ST-60 Pamina Marine Electronics 5 28-08-2006 14:47



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:12.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.